Beaker creatures review & giveaway

Beaker creatures review & giveaway

Recently we were sent learning resources Beaker creatures liquid reactor super lab to review and I have one for one of you to win too. I love Learning resources as their products are of great quality and they have a huge range of learning toys on the market. If you are unfamiliar with Beaker creatures it is a STEM toy suitable for children 5 and up. It combines fun science with collectables. Read on to find out more.

 

Beaker creatures review

This post contains affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, I may make a small commission. This does not affect the price you pay.

 

What’s in the box?

The main part is the liquid reactor super lab which consists of the blue overflow tray, the main chamber and two syringe plungers. There is also 2 plastic beakers, a pair of tongs, a stirring stick and 2 reactor pods. There is also a collection of papers which includes a poster of all 36 Beaker creatures, a booklet of different experiments and further details about the two different species of beaker creatures in the reactor pods.

 

Beaker creatures review

 

Beaker creature reactor pods

Each reactor pod contains 1 beaker creature inside. Simple place the reactor pod in the chamber and push water through the plungers into the chamber then watch as it foams and fizzes. Finally, use your tongs to extract the capsule containing your creature. The creatures are only a few centimetres in size and there are 36 to collect but they are sold in blind bags so you could end up buying a lot of reactor pods if you are trying to collect them all. You can buy reactor pods in packs of 2 or sets of 6.

 

What else can you do with the beaker creatures liquid reactor super lab?

You might wonder what else you can do with this toy once you have extracted your 2 reactor pods. Thankfully there are many more science activities that you can do with things that you will find in your kitchen like food colouring, washing up liquid and water as well as other items like baby oil and glue.

 

Beaker creatures review

What did my 5 year old think?

My daughter was excited as soon as I took this toy out of the box. She was attracted to the bright colours and also seemed genuinely interested in doing some experiments. We started with the reactor pods and she really enjoyed pressing the plungers down and watching the pods fizz and breakdown, colouring the water as they did. She also loved the little aliens too. I love this set and love how it makes learning fun and simple for kids. I’m sure we will be doing lots of experiments using this set very soon.

 

Giveaway

If you like the sound of the Beaker creatures liquid reactor super lab and would like your chance to win one for yourself then enter by filling in the Gleam widget below.

 

Learning resources beaker creatures liquid reactor super lab

 

 

Pin for later:

Beaker creatures review

 

Disclosure – I received one learning resources beaker creatures liquid reactor super lab in exchange for this review (& one to giveaway). All photos, thoughts and opinions are my own. This post contains affiliate links, if you make a purchase through them I may make a small commission, this does not affect the price you pay.

 

 

 

115 Comments

  1. November 19, 2018 / 4:44 pm

    Currently this is my favourote toy as my son really wants this one for Christmas. He has their test tubes, which are great. So well made and he plays with them for hours. I’m also going to be buying him their lab coat for his science themed birthday party. I just love their range!

  2. Tracy Nixon
    November 19, 2018 / 8:06 pm

    We have their Learning Resources Super Sorting Pie and the kids love it!

  3. Martina Pichova
    November 19, 2018 / 8:47 pm

    We have the microscope and my kids love looking at different everyday items through it.

  4. Angie McDonald
    November 19, 2018 / 8:53 pm

    My favourite is Botley the Coding Robot

  5. EMMA WALTERS
    November 19, 2018 / 9:29 pm

    we have the Learning Resources Primary Science Lab Set which my boys love

  6. Karen Radford
    November 19, 2018 / 9:41 pm

    We love the Playfoam Pals – great fun and no mess!

  7. Catherine S
    November 19, 2018 / 10:12 pm

    Playfoam is my favourite learning resources toy. Mess free fun for all!

  8. Ashley Phillips
    November 19, 2018 / 10:39 pm

    The alphabet island letter recognition game has been brilliant for my youngest

  9. Karen Barrett
    November 19, 2018 / 10:47 pm

    Micoscope

  10. Laura Banks
    November 19, 2018 / 10:57 pm

    the microscope

  11. claire w
    November 19, 2018 / 10:58 pm

    We love the erupting volcano!

  12. November 19, 2018 / 10:58 pm

    The boys loved their microscope, I really like the sound of this product though x

  13. iain maciver
    November 19, 2018 / 10:58 pm

    a learning robot

  14. Dagmara
    November 19, 2018 / 11:31 pm

    This toy looks great. My daughter for sure would like to try it.

  15. Solange
    November 19, 2018 / 11:35 pm

    We love the Playfoam Pals.

  16. Katie B
    November 19, 2018 / 11:45 pm

    Their coding robot!

  17. john prendergast
    November 19, 2018 / 11:45 pm

    toy cash register

  18. Gemma
    November 20, 2018 / 1:15 am

    The primary science lab at the minute but this looks ace

  19. Adrian Bold
    November 20, 2018 / 1:43 am

    The Microscope is great fun for looking at all sorts of things in high detail.

  20. Rachael Sexey
    November 20, 2018 / 6:40 am

    Microscope

  21. Katie
    November 20, 2018 / 7:01 am

    the coding robot

  22. Ruth Harwood
    November 20, 2018 / 7:35 am

    we love the microscope – my daughter’s a budding chemist!!

  23. Jo McPherson
    November 20, 2018 / 8:11 am

    The microscope

  24. Tracy Newton
    November 20, 2018 / 9:35 am

    Looking at the website I think my son would say, this Beaker Creature. It looks like great fun.

  25. Ursula Hunt
    November 20, 2018 / 11:20 am

    i like the Learning Resources Beaker Creatures Magnification Chamber

  26. wendy becker
    November 20, 2018 / 11:47 am

    the Coding Robot

  27. Emma Howard
    November 20, 2018 / 1:20 pm

    Difficult choice as they all look so good, but I think my son would love the microscope

  28. Anonymous
    November 20, 2018 / 1:37 pm

    the microscope is just brilliant and twins rose and teresa love using this and always thinking of things to put under it!

  29. Caroline H
    November 20, 2018 / 1:51 pm

    Botley the Coding Robot. I’m hearing lots about it this year as a “must have”.

  30. Rich Tyler
    November 20, 2018 / 2:02 pm

    Microscope

  31. Maggie Ali
    November 20, 2018 / 5:47 pm

    We love their microscope!

  32. maria blythin
    November 20, 2018 / 7:02 pm

    the microscope x

  33. Susan B
    November 20, 2018 / 7:03 pm

    We really love Botley the Coding Robot.

  34. Samantha O'D
    November 20, 2018 / 8:04 pm

    The coding robot looks awesome

  35. jason w
    November 20, 2018 / 8:04 pm

    chemistry sets

  36. ADEINNE TONNER
    November 20, 2018 / 9:21 pm

    For me it has to be the coding robot it is a real challenge for the children and something fun they enjoy too.

  37. LINDSEY MORRIS
    November 20, 2018 / 11:02 pm

    My little boy is a science geek just like mummy

  38. Sean Eccles
    November 20, 2018 / 11:05 pm

    we have the Playfoam Pals My son loves them!

  39. justine meyer
    November 21, 2018 / 9:56 am

    Love the coding robot

  40. Jean Cassell
    November 21, 2018 / 11:11 am

    The coding robot- it stretches me and teaches my grandchildren

  41. Sarah
    November 21, 2018 / 1:39 pm

    My son would love this!

  42. Claire Nutman
    November 21, 2018 / 8:52 pm

    The traditional abacus is still my fave…..

  43. November 22, 2018 / 7:30 am

    We absolutely love the microscope my son got from Christmas last year. He is now turning into a great little scientist!

  44. Romany Osborne
    November 22, 2018 / 10:08 am

    What a great little prize. We currently love our Compare Bears

  45. Margaret GALLAGHER
    November 22, 2018 / 5:48 pm

    Playfoam pals is our favourite

  46. Jo
    November 23, 2018 / 10:00 pm

    I really like the look of Botley the Coding Robot, I think my son’s would love it but then again we spent a lot of money on toys last Christmas that I “knew they would love” an it turns out that I can be wrong sometimes

  47. November 24, 2018 / 11:51 am

    I really like the Pretend & Play Original School Set. My youngest got it a couple of years ago and still plays with it x

  48. Kim Neville
    November 24, 2018 / 3:00 pm

    My kids like science sets and experimenting

  49. Richard Saunders
    November 24, 2018 / 4:48 pm

    My youngest loves his bug catcher with microscope

  50. Lorna Ledger
    November 24, 2018 / 5:32 pm

    My Niece and Nephew would love this!

  51. Amy Bondoc
    November 24, 2018 / 7:01 pm

    my nephews love thier Science Lab Set 🙂

  52. Sheri Darby
    November 24, 2018 / 9:54 pm

    Microscopes are incredibly interesting – we thoroughly enjoy using them

  53. Sam Parkes
    November 24, 2018 / 10:20 pm

    We love Botley the coding robot, so cute

  54. Rebecca Nisbet
    November 24, 2018 / 10:56 pm

    My daughter doesn’t have any of these but will keep an eye out for them in the xmas shopping! It looks fantastic

  55. Linda Ford
    November 25, 2018 / 9:18 am

    My niece has a coding robot, it’s really good!

  56. Jodie W
    November 25, 2018 / 9:22 am

    I have to say, as a scientist mum, this would be my favourite thing on learning resources. I love doing little experments with my son. This would be an ace way to make it more sciency with the equipment. My almost 5 year old enjoys finding out how things work, and would enjoy mixing potions up

  57. Christina Palmer
    November 25, 2018 / 2:01 pm

    The erupting volcano is my grandsons favourite

  58. JULIE WARD
    November 25, 2018 / 5:40 pm

    The flower garden build ans spin for grandchildren

  59. Roisin
    November 25, 2018 / 7:04 pm

    The platform pals are a favourite with my nieces

  60. Laura Bryant
    November 25, 2018 / 7:43 pm

    Microscope

  61. Susan Willshee
    November 25, 2018 / 8:00 pm

    I love globes because they spark off so many conversations about other places around the world, and even about why the world is round and how people stand upright when they are upside down. (please note, I love the questions….very often have to refer to wiki for the answers though!)

  62. Cathryn Crawshaw
    November 25, 2018 / 9:50 pm

    Botley the Coding Robot

  63. katrina walsh
    November 25, 2018 / 10:22 pm

    The erupting volcano

  64. Sarah Mcknight
    November 25, 2018 / 10:29 pm

    GeoSafari Jr. My First Microscope

  65. Alice Colling
    November 26, 2018 / 7:29 am

    Spike the hedgehog

  66. Tamara Wheatley
    November 26, 2018 / 12:57 pm

    Looks like a great learning toy to get kids interested in science.

  67. November 26, 2018 / 2:23 pm

    Love the Fossil collection as my son loves learning about fossils

  68. Samantha Philpott
    November 26, 2018 / 3:13 pm

    The coding robot

  69. Kat Allinson
    November 26, 2018 / 4:18 pm

    The microscope looks amazing!

  70. Anthea Holloway
    November 26, 2018 / 5:35 pm

    Learning Resources Pretend and Play Calculator Cash Register with UK Play Money – super fun for children and they learn all about money and paying for goods too!

  71. greig spencer
    November 26, 2018 / 5:56 pm

    Botley the Coding Robot

  72. Pauline Burroughs
    November 26, 2018 / 6:26 pm

    I think the Learning Resources Sight Word Bingo is a brilliant idea

  73. Emilia Nastaly-Howard
    November 26, 2018 / 6:33 pm

    Must be microscope

  74. November 26, 2018 / 9:49 pm

    I really love anything maths related so the Super Sorting Pie looks great.

  75. donna l jones
    November 27, 2018 / 8:01 am

    coding robot is brilliant

  76. Lauren Fox
    November 27, 2018 / 9:40 am

    My son has autism and is very sensory. I am going to buy him some Playfoam as I think he will love the feel of it 🙂

  77. Amanda Davis
    November 27, 2018 / 11:11 am

    Our favourite learning resources toy at the moment is the mircoscope

  78. Troy Easton
    November 27, 2018 / 12:45 pm

    the microscope!

  79. Nikki Stewart
    November 27, 2018 / 1:43 pm

    The playfoam stuff is our favourite here x

  80. Shelley Jessup
    November 27, 2018 / 3:26 pm

    Botley the Coding Robot is rather clever & fascinating too!

  81. tamara foster
    November 27, 2018 / 3:57 pm

    Microscope

  82. Paula Phillips
    November 27, 2018 / 8:24 pm

    The microscope.

  83. Deborah Clarke
    November 27, 2018 / 10:16 pm

    Botley the Coding Robot is a firm favourite in our house. Thanks for the chance to be your lucky winner

  84. Diana
    November 27, 2018 / 10:36 pm

    Science Lab Set 🙂

  85. MANDY DOHERTY
    November 27, 2018 / 11:42 pm

    The Gears! Gears! Gears! Lights & Action Motorised Building Set

  86. Lucy Chester
    November 28, 2018 / 8:03 am

    Has to be Botley the Coding Robot as my nephew loves it and a great introduction to coding and computing

  87. Jodie Green
    November 28, 2018 / 9:19 am

    The microscope is amazing!

  88. Kay Broomfield
    November 28, 2018 / 9:29 am

    My daughter loves the Playfoam Pals.

  89. Denise walton
    November 28, 2018 / 9:39 am

    The robot

  90. Jo Hutchings
    November 28, 2018 / 9:53 am

    My favourite learning toys are simple things like magnifying glasses that allow children to see the world in a different way.

  91. Angela L Paull
    November 28, 2018 / 9:54 am

    Botley the Coding Robot looks awesome

  92. November 28, 2018 / 9:58 am

    Never had one but my grandson loves anything to do with science this would be great for him

  93. Leanne Hansell
    November 28, 2018 / 11:23 am

    We love Playfoam Pals.

  94. paula cheadle
    November 28, 2018 / 12:26 pm

    toy cash register all the kids love this

  95. November 28, 2018 / 1:56 pm

    The Wipe-Clean Demonstration Clock has been a huge help for us!

  96. Faye Reed
    November 28, 2018 / 2:32 pm

    Botley the coding bot is lots of fun.

  97. Laura Walker
    November 28, 2018 / 3:48 pm

    The my first microscope my little boy loves to investigate everything

  98. Angela Sharp
    November 28, 2018 / 4:38 pm

    The coding robot is my childrens favourite at the moment

  99. Teresa sheldon
    November 28, 2018 / 4:51 pm

    I love any educational toy and lurk do some fantastic ones my eldest daughter has the fossil collection, and has had so much fun with them and all the time learning

  100. Kelly Wheelhouse
    November 28, 2018 / 4:54 pm

    I love their Smart Splash Colour play Penguins 🙂

  101. Tammy Neal
    November 28, 2018 / 6:41 pm

    the microscope

  102. Catherine Gregory
    November 28, 2018 / 6:44 pm

    The super sorting pie

  103. Fiona Johnstone
    November 28, 2018 / 7:08 pm

    The microscope is our favourite. I had an old fashioned one when I was young and my boys enjoy playing with this as much as I did.

  104. laura stewart
    November 28, 2018 / 7:57 pm

    we like the coding robot

  105. Lizanne Deacon
    November 28, 2018 / 8:09 pm

    Coding robot. My boy loves stuff like this

  106. Arabella Bazley
    November 28, 2018 / 8:15 pm

    I think the Gears Gears Gears whacky wigglers look like great fun. I must admit it’s the first time I have seen the site so something worth bookmarking. Thank you.

  107. Tracey Whysall
    November 28, 2018 / 9:07 pm

    Botley the coding Robot!

  108. November 28, 2018 / 9:58 pm

    My two children had a few of the LR New SPROUTS food sets when they were younger and we loved them!

  109. Kirsteen Mackay
    November 28, 2018 / 9:58 pm

    I love Gears! Gears! Gears!® Machines in Motion.

  110. Natalie Crossan
    November 28, 2018 / 10:02 pm

    the microscope

  111. Catherine Bullas
    November 28, 2018 / 10:31 pm

    The science lab set.

  112. Tee Simpson
    November 28, 2018 / 10:41 pm

    I love Botley the Coding Robot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.