Messy me oilcloth and apron review and a giveaway

Messy me oilcloth and apron review and a giveaway

Recently I was offered the chance to review a selection of items from Messy me. I chose an oilcloth table cover and aprons for my girls. Messy me design and manufacture in the UK, products that help parents clean up after messy little ones.  Afterall, we all know how messy meal times can be with young children.

My girls are two and five so we are passed the messy weaning stage. Don’t get me wrong they can still make a mess at mealtimes but we are passed wearing bibs and highchairs. My girls do love painting, play dough and water play though. I chose a piece of oilcloth the right size for our dining table, an apron for my five year old and a tunic style bib for my two year old. Already these have come in so useful. Read on and find out what we thought and for your chance to win a messy me apron or tunic style bib in your choice of design.

 

Messy me oilcloth

The oilcloth fabric I chose by the meter, was soft grey stars but it is also available in three other designs. For the apron and the tunic style bib, I chose dusty pink dots. The oilcloth used for all three products is really soft and wipes clean beautifully. It is BPA and phthalate free too.

 

Messy me apron

The apron is designed for children aged 3 – 5 and is a really good fit for my eldest. She has only just turned 5 and is average height and weight. I suspect it will fit her for a while yet. It wipes clean well and the website says it can be machine washed occasionally (I’ve not tried this though). It is currently available in 5 different designs and is priced at £12.50.

 

Child wearing messy me oilcloth apron playing in water table

Child wearing messy me oilcloth apron playing in water table

Messy me tunic bib

This tunic style bib is suitable for children approximately aged 1 – 3 years. My youngest is just 2 years but bear in mind she is only 22 lbs (10 kg) and 77 cm tall. She currently wears clothes that are 9–12 months old. This tunic does fit her as you can see in these photos and there is plenty of room for growth. I love the velcro fastening that is tucked away at the back. The tunic allows my toddler to move freely but protects her clothing. Obviously, as there are no sleeves it won’t totally stop her getting wet. It does allow her to move easier and stops her from getting too hot in this weather though. I find that rolling her sleeves up does a good job of keeping her clothes clean. It is available in 5 different designs and is priced at £9.50.

 

 

Testing out Messy me products in the garden

I decided to test out our messy me products in the garden. You know how much my girls enjoy spending time outdoors so it seemed the obvious idea for us, especially as this month we are taking part in 30 days wild. They love playing in our water table but my goodness they can get themselves soaking wet in next to no time. I decided to test out the apron and bib to see if it helped them stay dry at the water table.

 

messy me oilcloth used as picnic rug

 

You can see from these photos just how much fun they had. We love our water table. It keeps them entertained for ages. We have a variety of cups, jugs and boats that they love playing with. The apron did a fantastic job of stopping my 5 year old getting too wet from splashes. I’m sure the tunic bib helped a little with the toddler too but the tunic was no match for a toddler pouring a cup of water over herself.

 

Toddler playing in colourful water table wearing messy me apron

Toddler playing in colourful water table wearing messy me apron

Toddler playing in colourful water table wearing messy me apron

 

We have also used the oilcloth fabric in the garden on a number of occasions. We’ve used it for a picnic rug and as a mat for messy play like play dough. My girls love play dough. We love seaside themed play dough at this time of year but this time we had a set of new safari/zoo animals which seemed like a good idea after our recent trip to Edinburgh zoo. My eldest enjoyed making tracks in the play dough with the animals’ feet. My toddler just enjoys exploring play dough and enjoying the texture but she does love lions and elephants.

 

Toddler's hand and plastic elephant with play dough on messy me oilcloth Play dough and plastic animals on messy me oilcloth

 

All three products were easy to wipe clean afterwards and also to dry. We love how lightweight, soft and flexible the oilcloth that messy me uses is. I love the designs too and I know that we will be using these aprons a lot for messy play, baking and painting in the future. The oilcloth fabric is now on our dining table and getting a lot of use. It’s still in perfect condition too. If you’d like to win a tunic bib or apron in the design of your choice then enter my giveaway by completing the Gleam widget below.

 

Messy me apron or tunic bib

 

Disclosure: we were sent these products and provided with one to give away in exchange for this review. All photos, words and opinions are my own.

87 Comments

  1. iain maciver
    June 22, 2018 / 8:46 am

    PERFECT GIVEAWAY

  2. Peter Watson
    June 22, 2018 / 8:51 am

    I like the Messy Apron – Dusty Blue Mini Stars

  3. Tracy Nixon
    June 22, 2018 / 9:03 am

    I’d choose the red stars design thank you x

  4. June 22, 2018 / 10:11 am

    The pastel roses design is beautiful! My favourite x

  5. Catherine Bullas
    June 22, 2018 / 10:41 am

    star design, red or blue.

  6. Sam Stallwood
    June 22, 2018 / 10:57 am

    Roses are lovely

  7. Keith Hunt
    June 22, 2018 / 11:59 am

    Oil Cloth – Navy Stars looks nice

  8. amanda w
    June 22, 2018 / 12:44 pm

    id go with the stars! its unisex which is great!!

  9. Solange
    June 22, 2018 / 1:10 pm

    I’d choose the red stars design.

  10. Susan B
    June 22, 2018 / 2:25 pm

    The Messy Tunic in Dusty Blue Mini Stars.
    Shame they don’t also make them for pets as mine are really messy!

  11. Lynn Neal
    June 22, 2018 / 2:36 pm

    The roses design is my favourite!

  12. Angela Treadway
    June 22, 2018 / 4:44 pm

    Navy stars x

  13. Margaret Gallagher
    June 22, 2018 / 5:08 pm

    Roses are my favourite

  14. laura stewart
    June 22, 2018 / 6:38 pm

    i like the Dusty Blue Mini Stars

  15. Kevin000
    June 22, 2018 / 6:48 pm

    Soft Grey Stars

  16. Alice Dixon
    June 22, 2018 / 6:52 pm

    The red stars design

  17. Redbox
    June 22, 2018 / 7:12 pm

    Great products!

  18. Redbox
    June 22, 2018 / 7:14 pm

    Red stars

  19. Sally Collingwood
    June 22, 2018 / 7:54 pm

    Red stars are cute

  20. Lydia Joy
    June 22, 2018 / 8:36 pm

    Oh perfect. Would love one. Thanks for the chance to win.

  21. Theresa
    June 22, 2018 / 8:47 pm

    Red stars!💖

  22. Rebecca Sutton
    June 22, 2018 / 8:52 pm

    I would choose the Oil Cloth – Soft Grey Stars, it will be for my sister in law and brother when they have their baby in December.

  23. Kellie Steed
    June 22, 2018 / 11:20 pm

    I love the soft grey stars design. I really need one of these actually for my art mad son. He’s ruined way too many clothes, I don’t know why I haven’t already bought one!

  24. Tasha
    June 23, 2018 / 7:09 am

    The navy stars

  25. Pam Francis Gregory
    June 23, 2018 / 9:18 am

    Messy Apron – Dusty Pink Dots

  26. Sue McCarthy
    June 23, 2018 / 3:14 pm

    I like the Red Stars.

  27. Catherine Stewart
    June 23, 2018 / 3:25 pm

    Dusty blue mini stars

  28. Andrea Fletcher
    June 23, 2018 / 4:19 pm

    I would chose the Dusty blue mini stars.

  29. Fay
    June 23, 2018 / 6:25 pm

    I would also choose the soft grey stars for my nephew

  30. Paula Barker
    June 23, 2018 / 7:33 pm

    Navy stars

  31. S Kerry
    June 23, 2018 / 7:44 pm

    I like the grey stars 🙂

  32. claire woods
    June 23, 2018 / 8:18 pm

    Star design

  33. sarah fielding
    June 23, 2018 / 8:22 pm

    The red stars one would be perfect!

  34. Sarah Mackay
    June 23, 2018 / 9:37 pm

    I love the red star design

  35. john prendergast
    June 23, 2018 / 9:57 pm

    the red stars design

  36. Neha Chauhan
    June 23, 2018 / 10:29 pm

    Pastel Roses

  37. Ruth Harwood
    June 24, 2018 / 4:30 am

    love the roses x

  38. Ruth Harwood
    June 24, 2018 / 8:49 am

    love the roses! as does my daughter xx

  39. Michelle Ferguson
    June 24, 2018 / 10:49 am

    I like the navy stars

  40. Kim Styles
    June 24, 2018 / 11:32 am

    I wold choose the Pastel Roses

  41. Danielle Moore
    June 24, 2018 / 11:45 am

    I would choose the grey stars 😊

  42. chelsey hollings
    June 24, 2018 / 1:43 pm

    I would choose the red stars

  43. Amanda tanner
    June 24, 2018 / 10:54 pm

    The red stars please

  44. Julie Jessup
    June 24, 2018 / 11:20 pm

    i adore the red stars what a great product thanks for the chance

  45. Rikki marsala
    June 25, 2018 / 7:04 pm

    thesr are gorgeous and so practical

  46. Sarah Summers
    June 25, 2018 / 7:23 pm

    I would choose pastel roses 🌹

  47. Karen Barrett
    June 25, 2018 / 7:41 pm

    I like the Dusty Blue Mini Stars design

  48. Jo Hutchings
    June 25, 2018 / 7:50 pm

    I’d choose the Messy Me apron in the red spots design.

  49. Hannah Wallington
    June 25, 2018 / 8:21 pm

    I like the blue star design

  50. Emma C
    June 25, 2018 / 9:08 pm

    Blue star design

  51. Rachel Butterworth
    June 26, 2018 / 1:52 pm

    The red dots.

  52. Rachel Butterworth
    June 26, 2018 / 1:57 pm

    Red dots

  53. Maria P
    June 26, 2018 / 9:05 pm

    I would choose grey stars

  54. June 28, 2018 / 5:57 am

    They look great! I use oilcloths at home for our arts and crafts. I used to use them when I ran kids parties and workshops too. They last really well.

    I’d pick the grey apron, with stars.

  55. Elzbieta Znyk
    June 28, 2018 / 8:41 pm

    Messy Apron – Pastel Roses

  56. ADRIAN PRICE
    June 29, 2018 / 7:19 pm

    I love the Red Star Design

  57. janine atkin
    June 30, 2018 / 8:50 am

    id choose the navy stars

  58. Angela Kelly
    June 30, 2018 / 2:22 pm

    I’d choose the navy star design, I love navy.

  59. Rebecca Howells (@Regrash7)
    June 30, 2018 / 2:39 pm

    pastel roses is pretty

  60. Laura Pritchard
    June 30, 2018 / 6:31 pm

    The dusty pink dots for my daughter!

  61. Marie Rungapadiachy
    June 30, 2018 / 8:59 pm

    I love Messy Apron – Pastel Roses design. This is so pretty.

  62. jacqui rushton
    July 1, 2018 / 4:37 am

    Pastel roses

  63. Sandra Fortune
    July 1, 2018 / 7:21 am

    The grey and white stars

  64. Astrid C
    July 1, 2018 / 7:47 am

    awesome giveaway xx

  65. carol boffey
    July 1, 2018 / 8:29 am

    love the roses design

  66. Amy Moore
    July 1, 2018 / 9:51 am

    I love the red stars

  67. Helen Stratton
    July 1, 2018 / 10:14 am

    I would choose the Pastel Roses apron.

  68. christine westlake
    July 1, 2018 / 10:14 am

    blue stars would be fab

  69. Adrian Bold
    July 1, 2018 / 11:55 am

    I would choose the grey and white stars design.

  70. Lucy Carter
    July 1, 2018 / 12:19 pm

    I’d like the dusty grey star print

  71. Pauline Black
    July 1, 2018 / 12:28 pm

    Navy stars!

  72. paula cheadle
    July 1, 2018 / 12:44 pm

    love the roses design for my granddaughter

  73. tamsyn
    July 1, 2018 / 1:04 pm

    the rose one is my fav

  74. AG
    July 1, 2018 / 3:42 pm

    I like navy stars

  75. Lucinda Fortune
    July 1, 2018 / 4:10 pm

    the navy stars is nice

  76. claire griffiths
    July 1, 2018 / 4:44 pm

    i would choose the dusty blue with mini stars apron

  77. Cassandra D
    July 1, 2018 / 5:24 pm

    I would choose the Oil Cloth – Soft Grey Stars.

  78. Roisin Niceochain
    July 1, 2018 / 8:06 pm

    would love the rose design for my niece

  79. Kyomi Johnson
    July 1, 2018 / 8:34 pm

    The navy stars please for my little niece she loves blue

  80. andrea tinkler
    July 1, 2018 / 8:57 pm

    The Messy Tunic in Dusty Blue Mini Stars.

  81. Marie Oldham
    July 1, 2018 / 9:29 pm

    Soft Grey Stars

  82. Monika Bascombe
    July 1, 2018 / 10:02 pm

    The grey and white stars

  83. stephanie
    July 1, 2018 / 10:12 pm

    grey and white stars

  84. Tee Simpson
    July 1, 2018 / 10:29 pm

    I think the Soft Grey Stars

  85. Stef Acaster
    July 1, 2018 / 10:31 pm

    the grey stars please

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.