The Children’s Garden book review

The Children’s Garden book review

This summer F has been learning about food and where it comes from at preschool. I’d love to grow lots of fruit and vegetables with her but with an active 13 month old and going back to work last month, we’ve just not found enough time. We have started small with strawberries and pea shoots (also sunflowers and sweet peas). It’s something at least. When invited to review a book called The children’s garden I knew it would be perfect to build on her learning and excitement about gardening. Hopefully next year we’ll grow more but until then we are enjoying learning about gardening from this book.

As soon as I read The children’s garden I knew my 4 year old would love it. This book really captures the excitement that young children get from watching plants grow. To them planting a seed, watering it and watching it grow into something they can eat is truly magical. Hopefully, even the fussiest of eaters can’t resist trying something they’ve grown themselves.

The children’s garden is a great book to read with children to get them excited about gardening and in particular growing vegetables. The illustrations by Pierr Morgan have a lovely nostalgic feel which will appeal to adults and children a like. With this book, Carole Lexa Schaefer has really captured the magic of growing fruit and vegetables with young children.

The Children's garden book review

The Children's garden book review

It’s clear that the author has spent time in the garden with young children.

“Look at the shape of this funny tomato” “Ha! It’s like a clown’s head with a big red nose!”

I can easily imagine my daughter saying something like this.

The Children's garden book review

Each page of this book is full of beautiful illustrations that my daughter loves to investigate and talk about. The illustrations have a vintage feel that reminds me of books from my childhood.

The Children's garden book review

The children’s garden is based on a real place in Seattle. A garden where children learn to grow food and care for the environment. It sounds like a great place but we can definitely create a bit of this in our own back garden.The Children's garden book review

The children’s garden growing food in the city, Carole Lexa Schaefer, Pierr Morgan. ISBN 9781570619847. Available now from Waterstones and other book sellers.

Pin for later

The Children's garden book review

Looking for more book recommendations? Have you read my review of The Case of the Stinky Stench?

Disclosure – we were sent this book in exchange for this honest review. All photos and words are my own.

Read With Me

 

18 Comments

  1. July 27, 2017 / 10:26 am

    We have this book to review and it has been a big hit, funnily enough we’d recently started growing things in our own garden! Thank you for sharing with #readwithme

    • Claire
      July 29, 2017 / 6:58 pm

      It’s a great book to read if you are growing things.

  2. July 30, 2017 / 8:28 pm

    This looks gorgeous, I love the vintage illustrations. Like you we’ve had a few little projects growing but it’s so difficult with very young children. We do love being out in nature though and we’re always looking out for different plants. #readwithme

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:29 am

      It is difficult with very young children but hopefully this year is a start that we can build on next year.

  3. July 30, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    I would love to have a chance to grow some vegetables in our new garden. We’ve done sunflowers this year and my girls love it. I hope next year we will be able to do more with our garden. This looks like a great book to get them interested in it x

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:28 am

      It would be a great introduction. Our sunflowers dont look like they will flower this year which is a big shame.

  4. July 30, 2017 / 9:22 pm

    My girls love the garden and they love growing everything – they are more green fingered than me that’s for sure! I will have to keep my eye out for this for them! x

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:27 am

      I love that your girls are green fingered. I hope mine are too.

  5. July 30, 2017 / 11:21 pm

    This book looks lovely, definitely something Boo, my six year old would really enjoy. Like you, I really want to start some GYO but unfortunately I’m probably the least green fingered person out there (back garden is 50% artificial grass 50% paving!) So I think I’ll take your advice and start small with strawberries in a pot or even cress… Everyone can grow cress, even me!

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:26 am

      Cress is a great simple start. I keep meaning to buy cress seeds.

  6. July 31, 2017 / 9:34 am

    This sounds like a gorgeous book to read over the summer. The illustrations are lovely. It’s great that it’s written so realistically with words kids will relate to & things they’d say themselves!! x

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:25 am

      I do love books that kids can relate to.

  7. July 31, 2017 / 9:42 am

    This looks like a great book! It makes me think I should really get BookBairn out and helping me in the garden soon! #readwithme

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:24 am

      She’ll love helping you. We first grew strawberries when F was 2. She loved it. I’m not sure how much she helped me plant but she loved watching, harvesting and eating.

  8. July 31, 2017 / 7:54 pm

    Oh I love the sound of this book! I love gardening and its something I always wish the kids would get into too. Maybe this book would help!
    x

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:23 am

      It’s a beautiful book. It might help them.

  9. August 1, 2017 / 9:58 pm

    The illustrations are simply beautiful! Monkey loves to watch things grow we have some veg beds and he get very excited when we can harvest some potatoes or similar. Although his sunflower is not doing too well. Such a great idea for a book.

    • Claire
      August 2, 2017 / 6:21 am

      Our sunflowers are not doing well either. Getting tall but no sign of flowers! Don’t think the like the weather we’ve had.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge