The happy book club review and giveaway

The happy book club review and giveaway

As you may have worked out by now, we love children’s books so I was thrilled to be asked to review a subscription box from The Happy Book Club this month. If you’ve not heard of The Happy Book Club before then read on to find out more about them and in particular this months box. I’ve also got one box which I am giving away to one lucky reader at the end of this post.

The Happy Book Club

The happy book club is a subscription service for little readers aged from birth to 7 years old. At the beginning of each month, they send out their subscription boxes which are themed each month. Each box contains age-appropriate books and activities. Each month a charity is also chosen based on the theme of the box and they receive a donation for every box sold.

There are two levels of subscription, The Happy Book Club subscription (1 book and suggested activities) and The Very Happy Book Club Subscription (2 books, a gift and suggested activities). Within each subscription, you can choose whether you would like a 1, 3, 6 or 12 month subscription. As well as which age range you would like to purchase 0-1, 2-4 and 5-7 years. Prices start from £7.99.

April’s box

 

This month’s theme is birds, perfect for spring. The chosen associated charity this month is RSPB who will receive 10% of this month’s profits.

I chose to receive the box aimed at children 2-4 years old since my girls are almost 5 and 2. In our box, we received 2 beautiful books, Pandora and The duckling gets a cookie? 2 bird gliders and a newsletter with ideas for further activities. This box retails at £12.99. You can find out more on their website.

 

 

We loved the two books we received. Pandora by Victoria Turnbull and The duckling gets a cookie? by Mo Willems. Pandora is a beautiful story about friendship and the environment. Pandora lives in a world of broken things (that she mends), where no one ever visits. Then one day a bird arrives with a broken wing. Pandora nurses the bird back to health and then something wonderful happens. The illustrations are simply beautiful too.

 

The Happy Book Club Review

The Happy Book Club Review

 

The duckling gets a cookie is a funny little book with cartoon-like illustrations. Duckling gets a cookie but pigeon is not happy as he feels he never gets what he wants. This is a great book for teaching children about asking politely for things they want.

 

 

After reading the book, it was time to open the gliders that were included in the box. My eldest had great fun colouring in and flying the bird gliders.

 

The Happy Book Club Review

The Happy Book Club Review

 

As well as the gliders, the newsletter suggested possible activities such as make a simple bird feeder with a pipe cleaner and some cheerios or go bird watching. We had a go at making bird feeders (we’d done this before at forest school) and we also made pretend birds nests.

 

The Happy Book Club Review

The Happy Book Club Review

Now it’s your turn to enter my giveaway where one lucky reader will get a 1 month The Happy Book Club subscription in May.

The Happy Book Club

Disclosure: I was sent one The happy book club book package to review and I was also given another to giveaway to my readers. All photos, words and opinions are my own.

Family Fever

59 Comments

  1. Tee Simpson
    April 20, 2018 / 9:49 pm

    To my nephew

  2. Tracy Nixon
    April 22, 2018 / 3:43 pm

    To my daughter thank you x

  3. EMMA WALTERS
    April 22, 2018 / 5:38 pm

    my little girl x

  4. April 22, 2018 / 11:27 pm

    Those books look great! My boys would love the gliders too.

  5. laura stewart
    April 23, 2018 / 8:29 am

    to my daughter x

  6. Alice Dixon
    April 23, 2018 / 6:06 pm

    My son Jeremiah

  7. Isabel O
    April 23, 2018 / 6:21 pm

    I would give the box to my niece, she loves books.

  8. sarah rees
    April 23, 2018 / 7:18 pm

    my 2 kids

  9. Shaun Tutt
    April 23, 2018 / 7:30 pm

    To our new born baby connor

  10. Cat Williams
    April 24, 2018 / 10:03 am

    My little boy, Eli is a huge bookworm so he’d love this

  11. Jennifer Bruce
    April 24, 2018 / 9:14 pm

    My daughter would love this

  12. April 25, 2018 / 6:47 am

    For a BookBairn! x

  13. Laura Walker
    April 25, 2018 / 7:37 pm

    This would be for my son who is a little bookworkm already

  14. sophie D
    April 26, 2018 / 11:37 am

    I’d give this to my son

  15. Carol Boffey
    April 27, 2018 / 9:03 am

    My cousins kids

  16. sheri Darby
    April 27, 2018 / 5:31 pm

    My daughter would love this

  17. Susan Lloyd
    April 27, 2018 / 11:41 pm

    My youngest daughter Pippa would love this x

  18. Angela Treadway
    April 28, 2018 / 1:31 am

    i would give this to my son x

  19. Sandra Fortune
    April 28, 2018 / 7:20 am

    My little grandson Thanks for the chance to win some

  20. donna large
    April 28, 2018 / 7:56 am

    my granddaughter ava blossom

  21. Maria P
    April 28, 2018 / 8:36 am

    My daughter and her nephews

  22. Katie Robertson
    April 28, 2018 / 9:14 am

    To my daughter

  23. Kim Neville
    April 28, 2018 / 9:29 am

    Would give to my grandson as he is the perfect age

  24. claire woods
    April 28, 2018 / 9:57 am

    My niece

  25. janine atkin
    April 28, 2018 / 10:34 am

    id give this to my nephew

  26. Angela Kelly
    April 28, 2018 / 10:46 am

    This would be great for my nephew.

  27. jo liddement
    April 28, 2018 / 12:02 pm

    This subscription box would be perfect for my granddaughter who loves books.

  28. Chris Andrews
    April 28, 2018 / 12:02 pm

    Who would you give this box to?
    my grandson Sam

  29. Jackie Dawson
    April 28, 2018 / 1:34 pm

    My little nephew

  30. ruth lee
    April 28, 2018 / 2:14 pm

    my 2 boys

  31. Laura Pritchard
    April 28, 2018 / 2:27 pm

    To my 3 year old daughter!

  32. Susan B
    April 28, 2018 / 4:22 pm

    It would be for our youngest. Thanks for the lovely giveaway.

  33. Ellie Welch
    April 28, 2018 / 4:47 pm

    my two little ones would adore this book. it looks great x

  34. JULIE WARD
    April 28, 2018 / 5:50 pm

    Would give it to youngest grandson, he would love it and possibly keep him quiet

  35. Keith Hunt
    April 28, 2018 / 6:35 pm

    A friends first child

  36. April 28, 2018 / 9:59 pm

    I’d give the box to my daughter, she’d love it! 🙂

  37. Kerry H
    April 28, 2018 / 10:24 pm

    I would give this to my son, he’d love it!

  38. Solange
    April 29, 2018 / 1:44 am

    My daughter.

  39. Susan Trubey
    April 29, 2018 / 4:36 am

    Amelia

  40. chelsey hollings
    April 29, 2018 / 5:21 am

    My daughter Noelle x

  41. paula cheadle
    April 29, 2018 / 5:32 am

    my youngest granddaughter

  42. Sadiyya Maryam
    April 29, 2018 / 6:03 am

    To my nephew to encourage his mum to read with him. My daughter is a real bookworm and he loves books to but his mum isn’t a big reader and whenever we read with and to him you can see the joy so would love to gift this to him.

  43. Lucy Robinson
    April 29, 2018 / 8:52 am

    My son would love this.

  44. Dale Dow
    April 29, 2018 / 10:02 am

    I would give it to my nephew <3

  45. April 29, 2018 / 11:24 am

    What gorgeous looking books – and so lovely to be able to create related activities too!
    Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

  46. hayley pemberton
    April 29, 2018 / 11:26 am

    my daughter lyla

  47. Ruth Kromkamp
    April 29, 2018 / 3:12 pm

    My daughter!

  48. Paula Barker
    April 29, 2018 / 4:12 pm

    My Granddaughter Maisy, she loves reading and creating so this is just perfect for her.

  49. Tammy Neal
    April 29, 2018 / 4:37 pm

    To my niece x

  50. Kyomi Johnson
    April 29, 2018 / 7:46 pm

    I’d give it to my little niece

  51. Andrea F
    April 29, 2018 / 7:52 pm

    My lovely eldest!

  52. Jo Hutchings
    April 29, 2018 / 7:55 pm

    I’d give the box to my little boy. He’d love it.

  53. becci cleary
    April 29, 2018 / 9:09 pm

    I would share it between my 2 year old Lexie and my 8 year old Hallie-Anne

  54. Marie Rungapadiachy
    April 29, 2018 / 9:19 pm

    I would give this to my daughter. She would love it.

  55. natalie crossan
    April 29, 2018 / 9:30 pm

    my daughter would totally love this x

  56. Adrian Bold
    April 29, 2018 / 9:39 pm

    I would love to win this for my niece. Thanks for the competition.

  57. Kate Davies
    April 29, 2018 / 10:34 pm

    I would give this to my son who is a little bookworm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.